About HKN

HKN is the international honor society for electrical and computer engineers. Established by Maurice Carr in 1904 with the opening of the Alpha chapter at UIUC, HKN has grown to over 200 chapters. Outstanding persons are elected to HKN primarily from the junior and senior classes of accredited undergraduate programs. Graduate students and distinguished professional engineers are also eligible. Students are chosen based on marked academic performance, personal character, service to the student body, and distinguished accomplishments.

While one of its purposes certainly is the reward of scholarship, Eta Kappa Nu has a far broader purpose than merely to award a badge of distinction to scholars. As conceived by its founders and as carried forward by its members for more than two generations, another aim is to assist its members throughout their lives in becoming better professionals. HKN encourages members to improve the standards of the profession, the courses of instruction, and the institutions generally where its chapters are established.

For more information, visit the national website at hkn.org.

Membership Requirements

Membership in HKN is extended to the top fifth of the upper sophomore class (45-59 credit hours), top quarter of the junior class (60-90 credit hours, the top third of the senior class (90+ credit hours), and all graduate students. Undergraduate students will need to have taken at least 3 ECE courses. Students who meet these requirements will be invited to join HKN at the beginning of the semester. Once invited, initiates will perform a semester of service for HKN before initiating at the end of the semester. See the Initiates Page for more information.


Molly Fane

I'm a Senior in Electrical Engineering from Dixon, IL. My studies have focused on signal processing and machine learning. My hobbies include baking bread, flying kites, and watching movies.

Somie Park
Vice President

Hi! I'm a senior in Electrical Engineering from Illinois, pursuing a minor in global studies. Besides HKN, I do research in biomedical imaging with Professor Liang's group. In my free time, I enjoy eating green tea, coffee, and black sesame ice cream.

Nikhil Parmar

Hey guys! I'm a California native currently in my third year studying Computer Engineering. Outside of school and HKN, I'm an avid musician, photographer, and tv-binger.

Tori Colthurst
Director of Technology

Hi! I'm a junior in Computer Engineering from Crystal Lake, IL, pursuing a minor in astronomy. Besides HKN, I am on board for TBP. In my free time I enjoy playing cards, watching movies, and eating ice cream :)

Nathan Narasimhan
Director of Corporate Affairs

Hey everyone! I'm a junior getting a dual degree in Computer Engineering and Innovation, Leadership, and Engineering Entrepreneurship. In my coursework I’ve covered a lot of things from Machine Learning and Computer Vision, to starting your own company and leadership. I’m super social and love playing card games, board games, and video games!

Steven Kolaczkowski
Director of Student Services

Salutations! I'm a senior in Electrical Engineering and Engineering Physics. Outside of classes I enjoy working in professor Lyding's research group, swing dancing, playing board games, and going to Illini Tennis meets.

Kanad Sarkar
Director of Outreach

You know who I am. You know what I do. I am a sophomore in Computer Engineering, and my field of interest is quantum block-chain AI algorithms. Furthermore, I am a future Grammy award winning artist. For further inquiries, (for start-up ideas or otherwise) email me. P.S. It be like that sometimes…

Milan Shah

Yo, I'm Milan a graduate student in Electrical Engineering. My research area is device physics and ESD protection. Outside of school stuff, I draw, read, play video games, and probably do other nerdy things you can think of.

Srijan Chakraborty
Director of Publicity

Hey, I'm Srijan Chakraborty, a sophomore in Computer Engineering from California and originally India. Currently I'm looking at a specialization in some form of computer systems and embedded systems, with some possible incursions into Robotics and AI. Besides ECE, I like to read cartoons, watch films, ice skate, and just chill with friends.

Aditya Chitnis
Director of Operations

Heyo! My name's Aditya! I'm a Junior in Computer Engineering, focusing on Operating Systems and Low-Level Systems Development. Outside of classes I love hanging out with friends, playing Ultimate Frisbee (when it's warmer), reading manga/watching anime/netflix, or playing DDR!

Yda Hoffer-Sohn
Director of Initiate Affairs

I'm a senior in Electrical Engineering from Iowa City, Iowa. I'm focused on Digital Signal Processing and I do research in automatic speech recognition. In my free time, I like cooking, reading, and watching movies.

Joseph Ravichandran
Director of Events

Hi, I'm Joseph! I'm a sophomore in computer engineering. I'm interested in security and computer architecture. In my free time I like to play guitar & ice skate.

Richard Nai
Director of Information

Hi! I'm a Junior in Computer Engineering from Gurnee, IL with a minor in Computational Science Engineering. I also do research in embedded systems. In my free time I enjoy cooking, playing computer and card games, and watching sci fi. You'll probably see me procrastinating homework in the RSO office :)