About HKN

HKN is the international honor society for electrical and computer engineers. Established by Maurice Carr in 1904 with the opening of the Alpha chapter at UIUC, HKN has grown to over 200 chapters. Outstanding persons are elected to HKN primarily from the junior and senior classes of accredited undergraduate programs. Graduate students and distinguished professional engineers are also eligible. Students are chosen based on marked academic performance, personal character, service to the student body, and distinguished accomplishments.

While one of its purposes certainly is the reward of scholarship, Eta Kappa Nu has a far broader purpose than merely to award a badge of distinction to scholars. As conceived by its founders and as carried forward by its members for more than two generations, another aim is to assist its members throughout their lives in becoming better professionals. HKN encourages members to improve the standards of the profession, the courses of instruction, and the institutions generally where its chapters are established.

For more information, visit the national website at hkn.org.

Membership Requirements

Membership in HKN is extended to the top fifth of the sophomore class, top quarter of the junior class, the top third of the senior class, and all graduate students. Undergraduate students will need to have taken at least 3 ECE courses. Students who meet these requirements will be invited to join HKN at the beginning of the semester. Once invited, initiates will perform a semester of service for HKN before initiating at the end of the semester. See the Initiates Page for more information.

Officers

Corey Snyder

President

cesnyde2@illinois.edu

Anthony Li

Vice President

ali34@illinois.edu

Somie Park

Treasurer

spark270@illinois.edu

Navid Mokhlesi

Director of Technology

navidm2@illinois.edu

Benjamin Eng

Director of Corporate

bceng2@illinois.edu

Molly Fane

Director of Student Services

mkfane2@illinois.edu

Penny Xu

Director of Outreach

ypxu2@illinois.edu

Alan Yang

Director of Secretary

asyang2@illinois.edu

Amanda Wang

Director of Publicity

awang47@illinois.edu

Sergio Silva

Director of Operations

ssilva20@illinois.edu

Sean Lee

Director of Initiate Affairs

slee500@illinois.edu

Nathan Narasimhan

Director of Events

nanaras2@illinois.edu

Mahir Morshed

Director of Information

mmorshe2@illinois.edu